L'AGAPE 2019

MEZEYRAC (FR) JUL. 27 – AUG. 3 SUMMER-SCHOOL OF THEORETICAL PHYSICS

Young physicists, mathematicians and philosophers shall retreat to the tiny village of Mézeyrac in the French Massif Central to explore the very boundaries of the thinkable world. The goal of this summer-school is to share deep discussions about theoretical physics, both its maths and its foundations in philosophy, in an open, critical and creative way for an intense time of learning, reflection and enlightenment.

With up to 18 participants, l'Agape sees a partition between six in-depth 4-hour courses given in the mornings and open and creative activities in the afternoons to foster discussions. Each participant will also hold a short 20-minute talk during the evening aperitif. The courses cover a broad range of topics in theoretical physics:

- A more efficient model of particle physics by C. Furey (University of Cambridge)
- Observables in Classical and Quantum Kinematics by F. Zalamea (EFREI Paris)
- Timeless statistical mechanics by I. Kotecha (AEI Potsdam)
- Cosmological field theories by S. Melville (University of Cambridge)
- Foundations of Quantum Theory by E. Adlam (University of Cambridge) (to be confirmed)
- Introduction to (linear) logics for physicists by T. Carette (LORIA, Lorraine)

Location:

An old refurbished, family-owned farm house in the tiny French village of Mézeyrac (Présailles), lost amongst the (extinct) volcanoes of the Auvergne region.

Fee:

The fee of \in 150 (to be paid in advance) covers accommodation, food and minibus transport from Le Puy-en-Velay to Mézeyrac. Financial support is available for participants with no support from their institution.

Application:

Fill the following application form before May 17: https://goo.gl/forms/TjroD8XPldMxKzsm2.

We ask each participant to contribute one talk. This should be a 20 min presentation on a subject aiming at broadening our horizons, enlightening conceptual issues rather than technical peculiarities.

For more information, visit the website: <u>agape2019.sciencesconf.org</u> !







Alexander Thomas Jérémy Attard Pierre Martin-Dussaud Robin Reuben Vaclav Zatloukal

Basic Research Community for Physics